Calcipotriol
| Evidence Level: L3 | Predicted Indications: 10 |
Table of Contents
Calcipotriol: From Psoriasis to Seborrheic Keratosis
One-Sentence Summary
Calcipotriol is a topical vitamin D3 analogue, marketed in South Africa in combination products (Dovobet ointment and Xamiol gel) for inflammatory skin disease. The TxGNN model predicts it may be effective for seborrheic keratosis, a common benign skin growth. Support is limited to 0 registered clinical trials and 6 publications, mostly small clinical series and case reports with mixed results.
Quick Overview
| Item | Content |
|---|---|
| Original Indication | Not stated in the supplied registration data (established use of these products is psoriasis, from general knowledge rather than the Evidence Pack) |
| Predicted New Indication | Seborrheic keratosis |
| TxGNN Prediction Score | 99.96% |
| Evidence Level | L3 |
| South Africa Market Status | Marketed |
| Number of SAHPRA Registrations | 2 |
| Recommended Decision | Hold |
Why is This Prediction Reasonable?
Detailed mechanism of action data is not available in the Evidence Pack. Calcipotriol belongs to the vitamin D3 analogue class. These drugs act through the vitamin D receptor (VDR) to slow keratinocyte proliferation and promote differentiation and apoptosis. This is why they are used in psoriasis, where the epidermis is overactive.
Seborrheic keratosis is a benign overgrowth of epidermal cells, so the same anti-proliferative action is plausible. One Japanese study (PMID 16043912) reported that topical vitamin D3 analogues, including calcipotriol, may work in these lesions by inducing apoptosis.
This link is inferred from general knowledge of the drug class, not confirmed for calcipotriol itself. The clinical signal is also mixed. A 2023 case series reports complete regression on the face, while a 2004 comparison with cryosurgery appears to favour cryosurgery. Study designs were judged from titles and truncated abstracts and have not been verified.
Clinical Trial Evidence
Currently no related clinical trials registered.
Literature Evidence
| PMID | Year | Type | Journal | Key Findings |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 36752725 | 2023 | Case series | Australas J Dermatol | 12 patients with solitary facial seborrheic keratosis treated with 0.005% calcipotriol ointment for 3-8 months; complete regression of lesions, with 6-10 years of remission on follow-up |
| 15090020 | 2004 | Comparative clinical study | Int J Dermatol | Compared standard cryosurgery with topical calcipotriene, tazarotene and imiquimod; the available abstract is truncated, and cryosurgery appears to be favoured |
| 16043912 | 2005 | Clinical/mechanistic study | J Dermatol | 116 senile warts (seborrheic keratosis) treated for 3-12 months with tacalcitol, calcipotriol or maxacalcitol; 35 (30.2%) showed a response (abstract truncated); apoptosis proposed as the mechanism |
| 15577148 | 2004 | Clinical report/review | Clin Calcium | Overview of active vitamin D3 ointments for senile warts, from the same investigator as PMID 16043912 |
| 10721662 | 2000 | Case report | J Dermatol | Marked response to calcipotriol ointment in keratosis lichenoides chronica, a related but different condition |
| 21534378 | 2011 | Clinical vignette | JAAPA | Differential diagnosis of seborrheic keratosis; no calcipotriol data |
South Africa Market Information
| Registration Number | Product Name | Dosage Form | Approved Indication |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reg. No. 37/13.9.1/0241 | Dovobet | Ointment | Not stated in supplied data |
| Reg. No. 44/13.9.1/0632 | Xamiol | Gel | Not stated in supplied data |
Both products are topical. Neither registered indication text was supplied, so the approved indications should be confirmed against the SAHPRA-approved Professional Information (PI).
Safety Considerations
Please refer to the SAHPRA-approved Professional Information (PI) for safety information. Report adverse drug reactions to SAHPRA.
Conclusion and Next Steps
Decision: Hold
Rationale: There are no registered trials, and the literature is small, mostly uncontrolled and inconsistent. One comparative study appears to favour cryosurgery. Safety data from the SAHPRA package inserts are also missing, which blocks progression to safety screening. Seborrheic keratosis is best treated as a research question rather than a candidate for clinical use.
To proceed, the following is needed:
- SAHPRA package insert warnings and contraindications (download and review the PI).
- Confirmed mechanism of action data, for example from DrugBank.
- Full-text review of the six publications to verify study designs and outcomes, especially the cryosurgery comparison (PMID 15090020) and the response data in PMID 16043912.
- A controlled study, or registered trial, of calcipotriol against standard care (such as cryotherapy) for seborrheic keratosis.
- Confirmation of the registered indications and available topical strengths for both South African products.
The other nine predicted indications, mainly vulvar and genital conditions, are supported only by model scores or a few case-level reports (evidence level L4-L5) and are all on Hold.
This report is for research reference only and does not constitute medical advice. Repurposing candidates require clinical validation before use.
Disclaimer
This content is for research purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. Clinical validation is required before any clinical application.